

OPENING DAY PROCEDURE

for the

Fourth Session of the Fortieth

MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

Thursday, November 20, 2014 1:30 p.m.

Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

NDP St. Vital ALLAN, Nancy ALLUM, Hon. James **NDP** Fort Garry-Riverview ALTEMEYER, Rob NDP Wolseley **ASHTON**, Hon. Steve NDP Thompson BJORNSON, Hon. Peter NDP Gimli Kirkfield Park BLADY, Hon. Sharon NDP NDP BRAUN, Hon, Erna Rossmere BRIESE, Stuart PC Agassiz CALDWELL, Hon. Drew NDP Brandon East CHIEF. Hon. Kevin NDP Point Douglas CHOMIAK, Hon. Dave NDP Kildonan **CROTHERS.** Hon. Deanne NDP St. James CULLEN, Cliff PC Spruce Woods **DEWAR**, Hon. Gregory NDP Selkirk DRIEDGER, Myrna PC Charleswood PC Lakeside EICHLER, Ralph EWASKO, Wayne PC Lac du Bonnet PC Morden-Winkler FRIESEN, Cameron GAUDREAU, Dave **NDP** St. Norbert GERRARD, Hon. Jon LIB River Heights GOERTZEN, Kelvin PC Steinbach **GRAYDON**, Cliff PC Emerson PC Brandon West **HELWER**, Reg HOWARD, Jennifer NDP Fort Rouge Fort Richmond IRVIN-ROSS, Hon. Kerri NDP JHA. Bidhu NDP Radisson KOSTYSHYN, Hon. Ron NDP Swan River LEMIEUX, Hon. Ron NDP Dawson Trail MACKINTOSH, Hon. Gord NDP St. Johns MALOWAY, Jim NDP Elmwood MARCELINO, Hon. Florfina NDP Logan MARCELINO, Ted NDP Tyndall Park MARTIN, Shannon PC Morris MELNICK, Christine NDP Riel MITCHELSON, Bonnie PC River East NDP **NEVAKSHONOFF**, Thomas Interlake Seine River OSWALD, Theresa NDP PALLISTER, Brian PC Fort Whyte PEDERSEN, Blaine PC Midland **PETTERSEN.** Clarence NDP Flin Flon

PIWNIUK, Doyle	PC	Arthur-Virden
REID, Hon. Daryl Gary	NDP	Transcona
ROBINSON, Hon. Eric	NDP	Kewatinook
RONDEAU, Jim	NDP	Assiniboia
ROWAT, Leanne	PC	Riding Mountain
SARAN, Mohinder	NDP	The Maples
SCHULER, Ron	PC	St. Paul
SELBY, Erin	NDP	Southdale
SELINGER, Hon. Gregory F.	NDP	St. Boniface
SMOOK, Dennis	PC	La Verendrye
STEFANSON, Heather	PC	Tuxedo
STRUTHERS, Stan	NDP	Dauphin
SWAN, Andrew	NDP	Minto
WIEBE, Matt	NDP	Concordia
WIGHT, Hon. Melanie	NDP	Burrows
WISHART, Ian	PC	Portage la Prairie

Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

The Pas

Ms. Patricia Chaychuk, Clerk

Mr. Rick Yarish, Deputy Clerk

Ms. Monique Grenier, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Claude Michaud, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Greg Recksiedler, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Andrea Signorelli, Clerk Assistant

Vacant

THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE FOR THE FOURTH SESSION OF THE FORTIETH LEGISLATURE ON NOVEMBER 20, 2014

- 1. The Premier, Honorary Aides-de-camp and Officer Escort meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 2. All **Members of the Legislative Assembly** and **invited guests** proceed to their seats in the Chamber and **remain standing**.
- 3. At 1:30 p.m. the Sergeant-at-Arms followed by the Speaker, the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk and the Clerk Assistants enter the Chamber.
- 4. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, Officer Escort and the Premier enters the Chamber and takes his seat on the Throne.
- 5. The Civilian Aide delivers the Throne Speech to His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor.
- 6. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will say, "PLEASE BE SEATED" and then reads the Throne Speech.
- 7. After completion of the Throne Speech, His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire, accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, the Officer Escort, the Premier and the Provincial Court Judges. **ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING**.

Prior to exiting the Chamber, the lyrics of "God Save the Queen" and "O Canada" will be sung.

- 8. The Speaker proceeds to the Throne and reads the Prayer.
- 9. The Premier moves:

"THAT Bill (No. 1) – An Act respecting the Administration of Oaths of Office/Loi sur la prestation des serments d'entrée en fonction, be now read a First Time."

- 10. The Speaker informs the House that:
 - Mr. Zachary BERRY
 - Ms. Samantha BOOTH
 - Ms. Vida EBADI
 - Ms. Shannon FURNESS
 - Ms. Veronica KESSLER
 - Ms. Vanessa MCKAY
 - Ms. Hannah PAYUMO
 - Ms. Lara PENNER-GOEKE
 - Mr. Nicholas WARSZA
 - Mr. Joshua WIEBE

have been appointed Pages for the Fourth Session of the Fortieth Legislature.

11. The Premier moves:

"THAT the Speech of His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor be taken into consideration tomorrow."

12. The Premier moves:

"THAT this House do now adjourn."

13. ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING.

The Speaker preceded by the Sergeant-at-Arms and followed by the Clerks exit the Chamber.